Welcome To BrownsDogPound.com . . .

GO FIGURE ???

I received the following CERTIFIED MAIL dated Tuesday, April 13, 1999, from what appears to be a very confused attorney, so I purchased brownsdogpound on Saturday, April 24, 1999 and promptly posted the letter to my newly purchased repository for such documents . . .

 

Cleveland Browns Football Company Attorneys Berwick, Pearlman & Mills
question owner or client of Internet Domain Name BrownsDogPound.com

 

JAMES H. BERICK
SAMUEL S. PEARLMAN
OSBORNE MILLS, JR.
WILLIAM M. MILLS
PAUL J. SINGERMAN
GARY S. DESBERG
DANIEL G. BERICK
EDMUND G. KAUNTZ
LAURA D. NEMETH

BERICK, PEARLMAN & MILLS
A LEGAL PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION

1350 EATON CENTER
1111 SUPERIOR AVENUE
CLEVELAND, OHIO 44114-2569

(216) 861-4900
FAX (216) 861-4929

E-mail: singerman@bericklaw.com

GEORGE F. KARCH, JR.
SENIOR COUNSEL

CHRISTINE A. MURPHY
ELLEN K. MEEHAN
TERENCE L. THOMAS
RAPHAEL J. OMERZA
BRYAN H. FALK
ALEXANDER G. BURLINGAME

 

April 13, 1999

CERTIFIED MAIL
RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED
AND REGULAR MAIL

Web Site Communications Corporation
P.O. Box 5126
Akron, Ohio 44334-0126

Re: Cleveland Browns Football Company LLC

Gentlemen:

The undersigned and this office represent Cleveland Browns Football Company LLC. It has recently come to our attention that you have registered and either you or a client of yours intends to use the domain name BROWNSDOGPOUND.COM. The web site which you or your client intends to use would convey the impression that the proposed web site is related to or has been authorized or approved by the Cleveland Browns.

The Cleveland Browns, over a long period of exclusive use and significant promotion, have acquired very strong rights in a number of trademarks, many of which are federally registered. The use of the Browns trademarks in connection with your proposed web site is of great concern to the Cleveland Browns. Please immediately cease and desist from any further use of the domain name BROWNSDOGPOUND.COM. We are certain you do not want to convey to members of the public the mistaken impression that you have in some way been authorized or empowered by the Browns to use its trademark or to trade off its goodwill.

We feel certain that you believe in fair dealing and are desirous of avoiding any possible confusion in the mind of the public. Having brought this matter to your attention, we are certain that you will recognize the rights of the Cleveland Browns in its trademarks and will cooperate in bringing this matter to an amicable close.

You should know that the Cleveland Browns have been extremely active in protecting their trademark rights, and it is not their intention to make an exception in this instance.

Please advise the undersigned in writing within 30 days after your receipt of this letter of your intentions regarding the use of the domain name BROWNSDOGPOUND.COM.

Sincerely,

 

Paul J. Singerman
singerman_signature.gif (599 bytes)
PJS:njz
cc: Mr. Kofi Bonner